Supervisor Safety Six Assessment

A Supervisor’s assessment has been introduced into the induction process to assist in accessing a supervisor’s knowledge.

A high standard of supervision is key to making our sites safe. We are asking all people with direct supervisory responsibilities to complete an assessment, as we believe they should be able to demonstrate the relevant knowledge to undertake the role as a supervisor.

We call the assessment the Supervisor Safety Six, and its purpose is to gauge the supervisors’ understanding by responding to the questions set out in the assessment.

The safety six are key areas for Supervisors where a good level of understanding is vital. The intention of the assessment is to establish their level of knowledge before that individual undertakes the role of a supervisor on the project.

The Safety Six Areas include:

  • Safe systems of work – communication.
  • Inspections – compliance.
  • Permits – how they work.
  • Incidents and unsafe conditions – what to do.
  • Dealing with behaviours.
  • Managing non-compliance.

After the induction, ask each Supervisor to complete the assessment.

Once completed, each Supervisor is assessed using the colour rating scale detailed in the marking guidance document.

Add up the scores from each question and follow the scoring criteria guide at the end of the document.

If the score falls below the expected standard the individual’s employer will be informed and appropriate mentoring or further action advised.

Tick the level of answer on each question box of the assessment document only.

Footer Reference

Entry submitted by Vinci Construction

Did you find this article helpful?

Please rate this article

0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 50 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5 (0 votes, average: 0.00 out of 5)
You need to be a registered member to rate this.

Leave a comment

Return to previous page

The Scheme does not promote or endorse any products, goods or services. For more information, click here.